PDA

View Full Version : Attic insulation



AMontemagni
01-13-2006, 07:15 AM
My house is 45 y.o. with the original insulation in the attic (which is about 2-3 inches thick now). Obviously it needs new insulation, especially with the recent heating costs...

Do I have to remove the original insulation?
Also, should I use batts of insulation again or should I rent one of those machines and blow it in?
They are 2x6's, if I use batts, what do I use - R-19?

JakeOfAllTrades
01-15-2006, 10:48 AM
Amont,
If I were you, I'd probably go with batts....that way you reinsulate it again down the road, it would be much easier to remove. Plus you'll lose all your wiring if you blow insulation. I would remove the old insulation as well. You want your insulation to fit snugly against the wall or ceiling that it's insulating.

Hube
01-15-2006, 11:06 AM
Either method (batts or blown) would be ok.but the main concern is not to block off the soffit air entry. These soffit vent openings must be kept open to allow air to ciculate thru-out the attic area ang exit out the vents near the peak.