PDA

View Full Version : installing a light



dee
12-10-2003, 10:56 AM
I would like to install a ceiling light in a hall way :)and run it from an existing switch. Is that possible?

Hube
12-10-2003, 12:53 PM
Dee; It sure IS possible, but a lot will depend on whether this existing switch has the hot and the neutral installed in the box or just has the "traveller" to the light. Also, you will have to run wires from this new proposed light down the wall to the switch. Post back with more info as to wall access, etc. Hube

dee
12-10-2003, 03:12 PM
Thanks. I will check the wiring

Jimmer
12-10-2003, 04:52 PM
Dee,

Welcome to the forum. You say that this is an existing switch. Can you run a wire from the existing light fixture it controls now over to the location of the new fixture?

Good luck, Jim

'Just a handyman trying to help'

dee
12-11-2003, 02:17 PM
I think that would be more difficult because it is in a basement ceiling and I would have to try and fish the line through the ceiling about 30 feet.

quote:Originally posted by Jimmer

Dee,

Welcome to the forum. You say that this is an existing switch. Can you run a wire from the existing light fixture it controls now over to the location of the new fixture?

Good luck, Jim

'Just a handyman trying to help'