Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Liftmaster RPM sensor failed??

  1. #1
    CHEDDAR DAN's Avatar
    CHEDDAR DAN is offline New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Liftmaster RPM sensor failed??

    Chamberlain Liftmaster Professional model 2000SDR

    Lightning took out the logic board and one of the safety sensors. Replacing these brought the system back to life, but now it only travels about 8 inches one way and then immediately travels back to its starting point. The up/down limit contacts are not involved and have been tested, etc. so the problem seems to be elsewhere. One person suggested testing the RPM sensor-the door short travels whether the sensor is plugged in or not. Is this how an opener with a failed RPM sensor behaves??
    BIG THANKS in advance
    CD

  2. #2
    norlando is offline New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Did you try increasing the force adjustment?

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to norlando For This Useful Post:

    CHEDDAR DAN (02-27-2012)

  4. #3
    CHEDDAR DAN's Avatar
    CHEDDAR DAN is offline New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    hi norlando

    Yes, thanks. I tried the adjusting the force.
    I ordered the RPM sensor this morning. A forum member had had a very similar description of his problem opener that the RPM sensor remedied.
    Wish me luck!!
    Best!
    -cd

  5. #4
    Jfro is offline New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    If your rpm sensor is bad it will usually not reverse direction of travel.what position does the opener return to? Open? Does it consitently stop in the same position?

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Jfro For This Useful Post:

    CHEDDAR DAN (02-27-2012)

  7. #5
    CHEDDAR DAN's Avatar
    CHEDDAR DAN is offline New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    THANKS, ALL -It's working again!!

    After replacing the RPM sensor the door behavior was un-changed. I tried the force setting *again* and this time it worked. ? Seems the original RPM senor was not allowing the force settings to adjust.



    THANKS AGAIN!
    -cd

  8. #6
    Jfro is offline New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Just a little FYI,the rpm sensor only controls speed of travel, the force controls are in the circuit board and tell the operator how hard to push before the door reverses,not a related issue.Turning forces up allows the op to push harder without reversing.The best way to check for a failing rmp is to disconnect op from door and run by itself. If it only moves a couple inches and totally stops that is a good indicator of a bad rpm sensor,not a force issue .

  9. #7
    garagepro is offline New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    burlington nj
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    circuit board

    If you have the opener more than 10 years or more I highly recommend for you to replace the all garage door opener unit.
    It will save you a lot of time in the future

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •