Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Trane blower won't stop!

  1. #1
    doitmyselfer's Avatar
    doitmyselfer is offline New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Post Trane blower won't stop!

    I have a 16 year old Trane, model number TWV736B140A0. The blower runs continuously and will not stop unless power to the unit is disconnected. I am very confident I can replace the defective part if I can determine what needs replacing. Does anyone have experience with this model Trane? I have included a link with a picture of the unit. Thanks in advance for any help. http://www.homerepairforum.com/image...s_001_w550.jpg
    Last edited by doitmyselfer; 09-26-2006 at 02:41 AM.

  2. #2
    HayZee518's Avatar
    HayZee518 is offline Deity
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Saint Regis Falls, NY, USA.
    Posts
    8,399
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 460 Times in 447 Posts
    when you shut off power the blower stops. when you turn it back on does the blower start again? I mean right away? if it does then the blower contactor has welded contacts or the control coil is burnt and has expanded holding the crossarm in the closed position. in this case (either) change out the contactor or at least the control coil if it was the latter.

  3. #3
    doitmyselfer's Avatar
    doitmyselfer is offline New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes, it comes back on instantly, the moment power is restored.

  4. #4
    HayZee518's Avatar
    HayZee518 is offline Deity
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Saint Regis Falls, NY, USA.
    Posts
    8,399
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 460 Times in 447 Posts
    then I would check the blower motor contactor. Find the control box and look for a brownish to burgundy colored relay. Could be marked in white ink, Arrow-Hart or Allis Chalmers on the cover. Usually rated 30 amps open style with a 24 volt operating coil. The compressor contactor looks the same only slightly bigger "physical" size but still operates off 24 volt. I'd have to see the control diagram to see how the blower is connected in the circuit to troubleshoot it further as there are high pressure and lower pressure limits in the system.

  5. #5
    doitmyselfer's Avatar
    doitmyselfer is offline New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Well I finally got time to take the cover off the furnace and locate what I believe you are telling me is probably bad. I have included a few pictures of the relay? I cant find this part number anywhere on the internet. It doesn't even come up on Honeywells site. Any suggestions? http://www.homerepairforum.com/image...s_007_w550.jpg
    Last edited by doitmyselfer; 09-26-2006 at 02:48 AM.

  6. #6
    doitmyselfer's Avatar
    doitmyselfer is offline New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Here is the other pic, http://www.homerepairforum.com/image...s_012_w550.jpg The Honeywell part number is R8222U 1071
    Last edited by doitmyselfer; 09-26-2006 at 02:47 AM.

  7. #7
    HayZee518's Avatar
    HayZee518 is offline Deity
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Saint Regis Falls, NY, USA.
    Posts
    8,399
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 460 Times in 447 Posts
    the first picture of the contactor looks about right. You can use just about any manufacturer, just arrow-hart is small enough to fit and still have the ampacity to do the job. Look for the amp rating, voltage it controls, and the coil voltage. with this information go to the grainger site or to your nearest electric jobber.

  8. #8
    doitmyselfer's Avatar
    doitmyselfer is offline New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I went to Graingers today and purchased a new relay. It looks identical except it has two additional quick connect terminals and all the specifications are the same except for one. The new relay has DPDT switching, and the spec sheet in the furnace says the old one is DPST. Anyhow, I installed the PC board on top of the relay the same as it was on the old relay (it slides over two of the terminals on the relay). Flipped the breaker on and the fan immediately started. So I am assuming the relay was not the problem, unless the difference in relay switching type or the additional unused terminals is an issue. Any thoughts? Thanks

  9. #9
    Hube is offline Journeyman
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    .
    Posts
    453
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Are you sure the T stat's "fan on" contact/lever is not the cause?
    Some brands of T stats will "freeze after long usage of 'fan on setting'

  10. #10
    doitmyselfer's Avatar
    doitmyselfer is offline New Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Well I haven't checked it with a tester but I have moved the switch back and forth several times when I first noticed the problem. The fan switch is in the auto position and the mode selector switch is in the off position on the thermostat. Fan comes on immediately when power is restored. I found on the stat sheet inside the unit that it has a 80 second delay. Waited much longer than that when checking the new relay. It never quit running.
    Last edited by doitmyselfer; 09-28-2006 at 12:32 PM.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •