Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Heater not operating correctly

  1. #1
    fmitchelltx is offline New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Heater not operating correctly

    The heater on my central heat / ac unit is not working correctly and I need help before my wife gets after me again. In the auto mode, nothing happens. In the on position, the heater will come on for awhile, it gets warm in the house. The heater will then stop and only the fan will blow. I have replaced the wall thermostat as well as the batteries. I do remember having a problem with the a/c not cooling properlly, but it started working again if I remember correctly, it did work in both the on and auto position. I just put another wall thermostat on there which came on in the auto mode for a few minutes but shut off aain within 5 minutes. I do not think that my problem is in the wall thermostat. What do I do? Help! My wife is going to make me stay outside with the dog..... It may be warmer out there with him!!!

    Any help would be greatly appreciated

    Thank you

    Frank
    Last edited by fmitchelltx; 12-02-2009 at 01:58 PM.

  2. #2
    paul52446m is offline Journeyman
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Houghton Lake Mi.
    Posts
    690
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 95 Times in 94 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by fmitchelltx View Post
    The heater on my central heat / ac unit is not working correctly and I need help before my wife gets after me again. In the auto mode, nothing happens. In the on position, the heater will come on for awhile, it gets warm in the house. The heater will then stop and only the fan will blow. I have replaced the wall thermostat as well as the batteries. I do remember having a problem with the a/c not cooling properlly, but it started working again if I remember correctly, it did work in both the on and auto position. I just put another wall thermostat on there which came on in the auto mode for a few minutes but shut off aain within 5 minutes. I do not think that my problem is in the wall thermostat. What do I do? Help! My wife is going to make me stay outside with the dog..... It may be warmer out there with him!!!

    Any help would be greatly appreciated

    Thank you

    Frank
    I don't know what thermostat you have but on most of them the on and auto
    is to run the blower. Do you have a ( heat off cool ) switch on your thermostat? When you say heater, do you mean furnace or HP. They do make
    thermostats that have a auto changeover from heat to cool. Is that what you have?. paul

  3. #3
    fmitchelltx is offline New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Mine is a furnace not a heat pump. It does have a heat and cool switch. Hope this info answers the question

    Thanks!

  4. #4
    paul52446m is offline Journeyman
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Houghton Lake Mi.
    Posts
    690
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 95 Times in 94 Posts
    If you turn your switch to auto, Turn heat switch on, turn up heat, hit hold, does your furnace
    come on. Wait 6 min.? If it does not come on then go to your furnace and jump from red to white on your low volt post and see if it comes on. If it does then you have a problem in wiring or the thermostat. Check low volt at furnace and
    thermostat to see if you are on the right post, Tell me what post you are on and the color of the wire? Also the tell me the letter of the unused post at the thermostat. If it did not come on when you jump red and white at furnace then the problem is in the furnace, Make sure door switch is made when you try this.
    paul

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to paul52446m For This Useful Post:

    fmitchelltx (12-03-2009)

  6. #5
    fmitchelltx is offline New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank you very much for the help. I had to get a repair man out here this morning. As it turns out, the problem was not in the thermostat itself. My wife or one of the kids must have opened the unit at some point in time messing with the A/C probably. They flipped the switch to gas. I have an electric unit. I am just glad to have it working so my wife may let me stay in the house! Thanks again!

  7. #6
    1979nztx is offline New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    hi,
    i have the same problem, can you tell me where do you find that "switch" to switch back from gas to electric? thank you for your help!

  8. #7
    fmitchelltx is offline New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    There is a switch on the front of the unit that goes between gas and electric. Flip this to electric and it should fix your problem. If you can't find it, please let me know, send me a private message, and I will give you my phone number and I will look at mine and walk you through it.

    Frank

  9. #8
    1979nztx is offline New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    got it! thank you so much

  10. #9
    fmitchelltx is offline New Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Glad to hear that fixed your problem. I worked on everything else before finding that. Please let me know if you have any other problems. I can fix most things around the house.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •