Forum Top GA Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• stucco: to remove or cover up??

My new house has stucco EVERYWHERE. I'd like to remove it, or even better, just skim coat plaster over top of it. The stucco is painted with a gloss paint though, Will this cause any adhesion problems with another layer of plaster?
    I'm a new homeowner and this is my first project I'd like to do but, I"m really at a loss for any knowledge of stucco.
    Any tips are appreciated.

best,
    Shannon

Is this inside or out? Outside = leave alone! Inside = replace with drywall but is $$$ also if new house may void warranty.

Comment

Thanks for your response.
      It's inside. I'm curious why you're suggesting drywall as opposed to skim-coating over-top with plaster. This is what most people are telling me to do. I'm open to whatever is best, but I'd like to know your reasoning.
      Is it because the stucco is painted with a semi/gloss paint? Will plaster not adhere to it?]
      Thanks again!
      Shannon

Comment