Forum Top GA Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Liftmaster 1345 opener problem

I have a Liftmaster 1345 that is approximately 5 years old. It has been operating a 16' X 7' custom solid wood door (very heavy - about 530 lbs). I know that the 1/3 horsepower opener is considerably less than recommended for this type of application; however, it has worked properly for the last 5 years. This is a standard residential garage installation, not 'high lift' nor is anything else unusual. I would appreciate your comments.

The problem that currently exists is this:

The operator is currently in the full up position and the door arm is disconnected from the trolley. When I press the button on the wall, the operator will travel about 12" in the down direction, reverse, and then return to the full up position. The light comes on, and does not flash during or after the operator has returned. I have replaced the reversing sensors with known good ones and that had no effect. I have increased the 'down force' adjustment to the maximum - again, no effect. I strongly suspect that my best solution will be to replace the operator with one that is more capable of handling a 530 lb door, but was hoping to find a temporary fix until I can afford a new operator.

In checking the balance and operation of the door, I have found the following: When I raise the door about 20" it will drop back to the floor. When I raise it about 42" it will stay in place. When I raise it about 60" it will continue to travel up to the top. It seems to me that the torsion balance spring is too weak and should be replaced. There are four springs installed on this door - 0.234 X 2"ID X 29¾" (2 LW & 2 RW) - each of them seems to be wound approximately 8½ to 9 turns. The hinges, rollers, and all bearings are in excellent shape and function properly.

Should I buy a new operator? What would be a good specification for this new operator?