Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Dryer blowing fuse

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    3
    Thanks {vb:rawphrase post_thanks_given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts

    Dryer blowing fuse

    I replaced the heating element in my dryer today. After it was replaced I plugged dryer in & it gave me "door open" warning. I checked for loose wires and there was an orange wire disconnected by control panel. After plugging it in I plugged dryer back in and it immediately blew fuse. Now fuse blows every time I plug dryer in...any help?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Saint Regis Falls, NY, USA.
    Posts
    8,743
    Thanks {vb:rawphrase post_thanks_given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    487
    Thanked in
    470 Posts

    dryer

    you need the schematic drawing of the dryer to see where that orange wire goes.
    did you have to remove the drum to get the element in it?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    3
    Thanks {vb:rawphrase post_thanks_given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by HayZee518 View Post
    you need the schematic drawing of the dryer to see where that orange wire goes.
    did you have to remove the drum to get the element in it?
    Had to pull drum forward to access heating element. Orange wire is a single run wire that goes from thermostat to the button that depresses when door is closed. Could I have fried that wire? Or fried the thermostat?
    thanks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Saint Regis Falls, NY, USA.
    Posts
    8,743
    Thanks {vb:rawphrase post_thanks_given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    487
    Thanked in
    470 Posts

    orange wire

    that could be a possibility because there has to be another wire on that door switch. the switch is a part of the motor control circuit. the door must be closed in order for the motor to start.
    I don't think they'd use 240 for the control circuit but 120 or 24 volts. that's why finding the schematic and tracing out the circuit is so important. it gives you a blueprint of how its wired.
    the heater elements are powered off a relay to turn it on or off.
    the overload and thermal protectors are part of the control circuit.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    3
    Thanks {vb:rawphrase post_thanks_given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by HayZee518 View Post
    that could be a possibility because there has to be another wire on that door switch. the switch is a part of the motor control circuit. the door must be closed in order for the motor to start.
    I don't think they'd use 240 for the control circuit but 120 or 24 volts. that's why finding the schematic and tracing out the circuit is so important. it gives you a blueprint of how its wired.
    the heater elements are powered off a relay to turn it on or off.
    the overload and thermal protectors are part of the control circuit.

    Yes, there are 3 wires to the door switch. One for a light and one that runs to control panel...plus the orange wire. How do I test the wires to see what needs to be replaced? Is it a trial and error thing?
    thanks for your help!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Saint Regis Falls, NY, USA.
    Posts
    8,743
    Thanks {vb:rawphrase post_thanks_given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    487
    Thanked in
    470 Posts

    orange wire

    three wires. one is common one is motor & element control circuit, the other is the light.
    this is why a control circuit diagram would be most helpful.
    there are several routes the manufacturer could take for wiring.
    all three wires go back to the control board. one is 120 volt common, one goes to the motor relay & element, one goes back to the light through a separate wiring harness.
    one wire comes from the control board with 120 volts on it to the switch. one wire goes directly to the light socket, the other one goes back to the control board.
    but you said there are three wires, so, I'd opt they all go to the control board. see attached diagramName:  tub.jpg
Views: 181
Size:  39.5 KB

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •