Forum Top GA Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Halo recessed lighting transformer buzzes and quits...twice

I'm pretty new to using forums for this kind of thing and what I've read suggests that most people here know a lot more about home repair than I do. I'm just trying to fix my dad's "reading-in-bed" lamp which is a Halo ET400 LV, operating on a dimmer switch. By his report, it worked fine for several years and then quit. Turning on the switch resulted in a buzzing sound from the Halo Lighting QE1292PK transformer in the ceiling. Seemed pretty simple to order a new one and hook it up, which I did. When I tested it, the light worked like a dream...once. Second time I threw the switch, the exact same thing happened as before--buzzing transformer with no light.

For the record, yes. I know transformers buzz but it wasn't buzzing like this when it was working properly.

If there's anyone out there who can lend a hand with this, it'd be much appreciated. This thing's been quite a hassle.

dimmers

check out your dimmer carefully. many of them don't like transformers because the dimmers produced a chopped a.c. wave.
    the new cfl's all have a small transformer.
    dimmers use a gated triac to dim the circuit. the gate is d.c.
    the dimmer doesn't produce d.c.

Comment

Well this serves as a pretty good example of how most here seem to know a lot more than I do. I don't really know what most of that meant but I get that you're suggesting the switch might not be compatible with the transformer. I have difficulty believing that this would be the case given the following facts: 1) this light was professionally installed by reputable contractor when my parents added on to their house. 2) The light ran flawlessly for over 15 years. And 3) There's another fixture exactly like it just over my mother's side of the bed that continues to operate perfectly.