Forum Top GA Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Leaking 3 years old shingle roof

It happened on the very first worm day when snow started melting. The house is 14 years old and I bought it last year in winter time. I did not have this problem last year. Last fall I inspected the roof and it looked excellent, like a relatively new roof. What worries me is that when I looked in the attic most walls were heavy wet, top to bottom. It was impossible to locate the leak origin. It is very possible there is no any isolation installed between shingles and plywood. But I can do nothing about this.
    I do not know much about roofing, but I have some hands on experience. On my previous house I installed by myself a big sunroof and a power vent. I also maintained it by sealing flashings, cracks, nails heads etc. It was 22 years old and no leaks or wet plywood inside the attic.
    Is it something I can do to fix it?

For clarity I added some pics. The Top picture is low resolution from Google map; just give an overall image of the roof layout. Soffit looks ventilated. There is no ridge vent. All vents are regular, nothing was added.
    Attached Files

Comment

Leaking Roof

There are several things you can check to determine where the leak is coming from. First thing is your gutters. Do you have clogged gutters? If you do than when the snow melts it cannot drain out and will back up under the shingles, possibly refreeze and then melt again inside the attic. Also you may want to check the ridge vents on your roof. These are the vents up top that run the length of the roof. Sometimes they separate and leak. If you give more detail of the kind of roof you have, like the pitch and mayby pictures if you have them, I can give you more advice.

Comment

Good Pictures