Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: New tv with interference....

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    .
    Posts
    1,698
    Thanks {vb:rawphrase post_thanks_given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    30
    Thanked in
    29 Posts

    New tv with interference....

    Helping a neighbor with his situation....
    Existing was a Direct TV 'standard' receiver hooked to a Mitsubishi 50" projection tv. Mitsubishi started going dark green, was replaced with a Polaroid LED flat screen. Wonderfully sharp picture, except for the horizontal lines. Similar to static lines. But they are thin, do not scroll up or down and are constant throughout all programs and all channels. No furnace running or flourescent lights or microwave is on. Even tried extension cord to other circuits. No change. The salesperson eventually told us to use an HDMI cable, that the coax cannot transmit properly to the HD tv. Turns out there's no HDMI port on the Direct TV 'standard' receiver and we have to upgrade to an HD unit. Well, that's a hundred bucks right off, plus 20 for shipping, plus an added ten a month.
    My question....is that true? Is it in fact a need of a new receiver? I thought the new tv's could show either, digital/analog or HD.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Saint Regis Falls, NY, USA.
    Posts
    8,740
    Thanks {vb:rawphrase post_thanks_given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    484
    Thanked in
    470 Posts

    direct tv

    I have one flat screen plasma with an HDMI input and a direct tv receiver HDMI compatible. I have another direct tv receiver that doesn't have the type F bulkhead connector.
    It does, however, have a composite video cable, colors RED, GREEN and BLUE. It also has the type S video cable.
    Check the back of the TV for the composite video in or the type S video connector.
    Check the back of the direct receiver for those outputs [other than the type F] connector.
    IF there's nothing compatible, call direct tv. you don't have to buy a receiver. you have the option of leasing on a monthly basis from them.
    when direct tv was installed, a tech usually sets up the receivers for the tv-s using the cable.[dish] two tv-s require a dual LNB amplifier at the dish.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    .
    Posts
    1,698
    Thanks {vb:rawphrase post_thanks_given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    30
    Thanked in
    29 Posts
    The neighbor acted on it, as the Direct TV tech will be out Wednesday. Anxious to see where this goes and if those lines disappear...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Saint Regis Falls, NY, USA.
    Posts
    8,740
    Thanks {vb:rawphrase post_thanks_given 
    1
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    484
    Thanked in
    470 Posts

    flat panel

    let us know what happens with the tech rep.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    .
    Posts
    1,698
    Thanks {vb:rawphrase post_thanks_given 
    2
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    30
    Thanked in
    29 Posts
    Neighbor is a happy camper. Although the old dish was on a tripod antenna about 15/20' up, he elected to cement in a five foot and install a new dish with the HD logo on it. Also the new receiver. Neighbor says the picture is very sharp and clear and his wife is pleased, too. Direct TV was very cooperative with them in giving price breaks and help. Old people with a very limited income needed some help and Direct TV was definitely there for them.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    16
    Thanks {vb:rawphrase post_thanks_given 
    0
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    0
    Thanked in
    0 Posts
    no, it depends on your tv provider. the channels have to be available in HD.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •