Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• John Deere L110 - oil leak

Hi Folks,

Does anyone have any epxerience with repairing oil leaks on an John Deere L110 tractor? The engine is a Kohler Command 17.5hp. I cleaned the engine up yesterdau and ran it and it was obvious (1) where the leak was coming from, and (2) it's a fairly substantial leak!. I don't know EXACTLY where the leak is yet, I need to remove some plastic covers to see the precise point. I've some experience with car engine repair (engine replacement, cylinder head gasket, replace camshaft, etc.) so I would think that repairing this engine would be "easy" in comparison. For a kick off it's a smaller engine and far more accessible than some of the cars I've worked on.

I contacted John Deere to see if they can help, next on the list is Kohler.

Cheers, Max

A great Deere forum is:

A great Kohler forum is:
    Latest news coverage, email, free stock quotes, live scores and video are just the beginning. Discover more every day at Yahoo!

Good luck with that!

Comment

MrCaptainBob, is there anything you don't do?

I'll check out those sites you mentioned because I'll be damned if I'm gonna spend the small fortune it will likely cost to gave some bloke chnage a gasket for me........at least I hope it's only a gasket.

I need to keep all my pennies for one of those nice new Dodge Magnums, took one out for a spin today and it was pretty tight.

Comment

I took a photo of the engine and marked on it with a red circle where the oil leak originates. I also marked with a red line the direction of the oil flow which, surprise surprise, is down.

Cheers, Max

Comment