Forum Top GA Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• GE Side by Side not defrosting

Hi all. Wow, this place is pretty neat. Anyway, I have a GE side by side, model number GSS201EMDWW that has an obvious (to me) defrosting problem. I've thawed the coils out with a hair dryer (I read to do that here) twice now, but it lasts about a week so I know the defroster part of it isn't working, or at least isn't working right. I'm an auto mechanic at a dealership, so electronics and things of that nature don't scare me. However, I have no idea where to start checking things. There's a lot of wires, and a sensor or two back there, but as far as what voltages/ resistance, etc. things are supposed to have, ??? That's why I'm here. Please help? An online manual, or just some good advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Originally posted by lordmik

GE side by side, model number GSS20IEMDWW
    Great, another one of GE electronically controlled fridge models. I'm not a fan.

There's a lot of wires, and a sensor or two back there, but as far as what voltages/ resistance, etc. things are supposed to have, ??? That's why I'm here.
    There should be a wiring diagram with the fridge which might also have some diagnostic procedures in a small pocket, pouch or envelope either behind the kickplate, in or near the compressor compartment at the back or inside the control console.

You can get a general idea of how a refrigerator's defrost system works at the following link:

LINK > How does a frost free refrigerator's defrost system work?

About the only thing on your model that can be easily tested is the defrost heater (see the following link) itself.

LINK > GE GSS20IEMDWW Defrost Heater

JFYI

Dan O.
    www.Appliance411.com
    The Appliance Information Site

=D~~~~~~

Comment