Forum Top GA Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Getting Started

Hi, brand new to these boards. I have decided to take on the task of fixing up my home. We've just recently moved in. It's a very old home, that needs a ton of work. We are currently on a very tight budget. My husband works over 60 hours a week, so I am going to be doing a lot of it myself. What I'd like to do for starters is get some of the rooms painted and looking decent. I'd also like to look into some flooring options at some point. The house is a 2 family, and we're thinking of maybe someday turning it into a 1 family, but that's something we'll have to hire contractors for, so it is not in the immediate future. Also, the floor is uneven, and my husband says we'll have to hire contractors to jack it up?? Again, not in the immediate future. In the meantime I want to make my home a nice looking place, but I have very little knowledge on the subject, and I'd like to surprise my husband, I want to get some of it going by myself. I have decided I will do 1 room at a time. The living room, and 2 of the upstairs rooms have really ugly panelling on the walls. I think I will hold off on those rooms for now. The floors through the whole house are very ugly, and will need to be replaced or redone or something. I am thinking of starting in the bathroom, but I'm not sure if that's a good idea. Can I just paint it and not replace the tub, sink, and toilet? There are some plumbing issues in there, so if I painted and redid the floors, would that cause a problem later if my husband decided to fix the plumbing? (BTW, he can't get to the plumbing in there through the basement, it's nothing more than a crawl space that only my 9 yr old can fit into!!!) I mean, all I'm doing is painting, and possibly replacing the laminent flooring, so if we had to redo it at a later time due to fixing the plumbing or replacing the tub, sink, toilet......that wouldn't be a huge deal, right? At least it wo