Forum Top GA Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New small basement window

I am finishing my basement living room and want to replace the original windows with new ones. Menards already had the size I needed in stock (common size I guess), it was a 32 (31 3/4) X18. The old wood window is out now. 3 sides of the opening are cinder block. I can attach a mudsill sitting on top of my block and screw it to my existing floor joist. A screw can then be driven through the window into this piece of wood. I also thought I would put a Tapcon near the bottom on each side of the window. At that point I would spray expanding foam from the inside on each side and caulk the exterior. Does this sound correct, I have never done windows before. If so, what kind of caulk should I use to seal vinyl to cinder blocks? My cinder blocks have a cut slanted edge on the outside. I am going to line the outside of the window to this edge so that water will drain off and not pool anywhere.

Anything else I should know?

Forgot to mention, the window has 3 flanges (sides and bottom). I was told I can just cut these off since I can't screw them to anything. The instruction sheet says to use mortar wash, not sure what that is or if it is needed.

Thanks
    Last edited by DKAudio; 05-04-2008, 10:05 PM.

The "flanges" you are referring to sound like "Nailing Fins" if they have little holes/slots all the way around them that is what they are, they are for new build construction where you use the slots to nail the window into your framing.
    Yes you can just cut them off and use the window as a replacement window with screws like you have mentioned.
    Make sure you use a 100% silicon caulk for exterior use, it will bond with both the vinyl and the blocks.
    Only use window and door expandable foam make sure it's not that "Great Stuff" it will expand too hard against the vinyl window frame.