Forum Top GA Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rotted Porch Floor Repair

My back porch is covered but still catches rain on the west side. The 5 outermost floorboards were rotted so much that my kid put his foot through one of the boards. I found some extra decking that was left in the garage by the previous owner so I tore up the rotted boards and am prepared to install the good ones.

When I tore up the old boards the joists were covered by tar paper. I'm a complete novice in this area but it seem to me that the tar paper was holding in whatever moisture leaked through the decking. Should I replace the tar paper or leave it as is. The foundation is poured and it's about a 4' deep hole underneath and the decking is tounge and groove so there's not a lot of ventilation once water seeps through.

Thanks.

the tar paper is acting as a vapor barrier. yes I would replace the tarpaper or rosin paper with a new piece.what you might do if you have the equipment is bore a few holes through the concrete -or- the "fascia" board and put in a few circular vents to relieve the moisture in the "hole" they needen't be large, a hole about an inch and a half will do. something to think about. the newer flooring is all about 3/4" thick. the "old" style which IMO was better and they still sell it is 5/4 flooring. basically it is a tongue and groove board about 2 1/2 inches wide and 1 1/4 inches thick.

Comment

Thanks Hayzee. I see you're in St Regis Falls. Do you know of anywhere that I can find the "old" style. I'm looking for the finished end board that does't have the tongue. I tried Lowes in Plattsburgh but no luck; all other Hardware stores are closed on Sunday.

I suppose I could do it with a table saw but I don't own one. Maybe I can convince the wife that I need one.

Comment