Forum Top GA Ad Widget

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Old House Rewiring

Can anyone suggest a good book or manual on the tricks of the trade to rewire an old house without pulling the plaster off the walls? Thanks for your help.

Time/Life has some good books, but you are NOT gonna learn house wiring from books. It all comes from practical experience. There are many, many scenarios which the books don't cover and a lot of tricks to the trade that you won't find in books. for instance fishing a wire through walls that don't line up one over the other. locating wall centers from the basement and drilling upward without coming through the floor outside the wall. drilling through firestops within a wall.

Comment

Way Beyond Time/Life

While I am not a licensed electrician, I am way beyond Time-Life. I have done a lot of wiring in new situations and rehabs where the drywall has been removed. In this case I do not want to cut into the structure of the house more than I have to. An example of the type of information I am seeking follows: A retired electrician told me that you can run new wiring by removing baseboards, notching 2x4's around a room. Is this a good idea? The same electrician told me I could ground a GFI outlet by placing a jumper wire between the neutral and ground screws. This I know is not a good idea - so I really do not trust the source. Again is there a source for this kind of information other than practical experience?

Comment